Restoring the Balance: A Short History of Gendered Colonization in Canada

July 21, 2020
A Short History of Gendered Colonization in Canada
Online
Details
Course Type:
Webinar

Restoring the Balance: A Short History of Gendered Colonization in Canada

This webinar will explore the gendered nature of colonization and genocide in Canada, with particular reference to the histories of Indigenous women, girls, Two-Spirited and transgendered people. Drawing on the testimonies shared during the National Inquiry into Murdered and Missing Indigenous Women and Girls, as well as traditional stories from Metis, Inuit and First Nations communities, Dr. Duhamel will explain the varied traditional roles of women in community, the particular gendered effects of so-called “blind” policies historically, and contemporary impacts on the safety and security of Indigenous individuals and families today.

Live captioning will be provided during this webinar, which takes place from 7–8:30 PM ET/6–7:30 PM CT/5–6:30 PM MT, 4–5:30 PM PT. If this time doesn’t work for your schedule, be sure to register and we’ll notify you once the recording is available on our On-Demand Learning Center.

 

About the Presenters

Dr. Karine Duhamel is Anishinaabe-Métis and holds a Bachelor of Arts from Mount Allison University, a Bachelor of Education from Lakehead University and a Masters Degree and Doctor of Philosophy from the University of Manitoba. Dr. Duhamel was formerly Adjunct Professor at the University of Winnipeg and Director of Research for Jerch Law Corporation, conducting research related to a number of cases related to the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement.

Most recently, Dr. Duhamel was Director of Research for the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls, drafting the Final Report, as well as managing the Forensic Document Review Project and the Legacy Archive. She is now an independent historian, curator and consultant working with communities, federal institutions and Indigenous organizations to communicate histories of colonization, of dispossession and of Indigenous resilience.

In addition to several other roles, Dr. Duhamel is a member of the Board of Directors for the International Council of Museums, a board member for the Facing History Board of Scholars and a member of the Parks Canada Indigenous Heritage Advisory Circle.

 

Online
July 21, 2020
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Search Our Global Collection

Everything you need to get started teaching your students about racism, antisemitism and prejudice.