White Supremacy and Antisemitism: Lessons from the Capitol Attack

May 4, 2021
White Supremacy and Antisemitism
Online
Details
Course Type:
Webinar

Tuesday, May 4
6:00 PM ET
5:00 PM CT
4:00 PM MT
3:00 PM PT

White Supremacy and Antisemitism: Lessons from the Capitol Attack

Photography captured during the January Capitol Insurrection has yielded a virtual library of disturbing imagery. Many of the symbols visible in these photos, including insignia on participant clothing, signage, sculpture, and metaphorical paraphernalia harken to both overt and covert in-group antisemitic intent. Join Brandeis University’s Professor of American Jewish History, Dr. Jonathan D. Sarna, in conversation about the history, themes, and relevance of these symbols continuing to show up in contemporary American society. 

During the webinar, we will:  

  • Learn from Dr. Sarna about the history of in-group antisemitic signalling and how it shows up in photos captured of the Capitol Insurrection.
  • Engage with Dr. Sarna in a moderated Q&A.

Captioning will be provided during this webinar, which takes place from 6:00–7:00 PM ET/5:00–6:00 PM CT/ 4:00–5:00 PM MT/3:00–4:00 PM PT.

This webinar will be recorded and available on our On-Demand Learning Center within 24–48 hours. 

You will be eligible to receive one hour of professional development credit for participation if you actively watch the webinar. At the conclusion of the webinar, you will be able to download a certificate of completion from the webinar console. Check with your school district in advance of the webinar to ensure that the professional development credit is accepted.

Online
May 4, 2021
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Search Our Global Collection

Everything you need to get started teaching your students about racism, antisemitism and prejudice.