Brooklyn Resists: Education as Activism

October 20, 2021
Brooklyn Resists: Education as Activism
New York
Details
Course Type:
Workshop

4:00-5:30 PM ET
3:00-4:30 PM CT
2:00-3:30 PM MT
1:00-2:30 PM PT

Brooklyn Resists: Education as Activism

Join us for the first in a series of professional learning events for educators presented as part of Brooklyn Resists: A History of Abolition and Protest in Brooklyn, a public history project at Brooklyn Public Library’s Center for Brooklyn History (CBH). As Black Brooklynites have stood up to oppression, classrooms and informal sites of education have been key to building bases of knowledge for popular movements. CBH’s education team and Brooklyn Resists project historian Brian Purnell will explore how education spurred action throughout Brooklyn’s history. Then, Facing History and Ourselves will lead a discussion on how educators today can create inclusive classrooms that elevate marginalized voices and question dominant narratives.

Attendees are eligible for 1.5 CTLE credits.

 

Register Here

Online
October 20, 2021
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Search Our Global Collection

Everything you need to get started teaching your students about racism, antisemitism and prejudice.