Facing History Now: The Future We Choose

June 9, 2021
Facing History Now: The Future We Choose
United Kingdom


Wednesday, 9th June 2021

7:00 PM BST
2:00 PM EDT
1:00 PM CDT
11:00 AM PDT

Please contact [email protected] with any questions.

Facing History Now: The Future We Choose

Please join us on 9th June 2021 for a special event in support of Facing History and Ourselves UK.

Eminent climate change experts Tom Rivett-Carnac and Christiana Figueres will share how their respective family histories led them to the work they do, explore how social injustice and the current climate crisis are intrinsically linked, and highlight why educating young people to stand up to injustice is critical to addressing the climate crisis we are facing.

We’ll also hear from students leading positive change, teachers on the front lines of education, and members of our global learning community about the transformative power of Facing History. 

The state of our world has created an unprecedented demand for Facing History’s work, and as we face the challenges ahead, one thing remains certain: Facing History is here to support teachers and their students. Will you join us?
 



Christiana Figueres is a Costa Rican citizen and was the Executive Secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change 2010 - 2016. During her tenure, Ms. Figueres brought together diverse groups to jointly deliver the historic 2015 Paris Agreement on Climate Change, for which she is credited with forging a new brand of collaborative diplomacy. Since then Ms. Figueres has continued to foster rapid action on climate change. She is the co-author of The Future We Choose: The Stubborn Optimist's Guide to the Climate Crisis (Penguin Random House 2019) and co-host of the podcast Outrage + Optimism. She sits on the Board of ACCIONA and Impossible Foods.

Tom Rivett-Carnac co-founded Global Optimism together with Christiana Figueres in 2017, when the pair departed the UN, having successfully secured the historic Paris Agreement on Climate Change. During his tenure at the UN, Tom ran political strategy, prior to which he was President of CDP North America. Tom co-authored the bestselling book The Future We Choose with Christiana Figueres and co-hosts a lively weekly podcast Outrage + Optimism. He serves as an advisor on delivering climate ambition to some of the world’s most influential corporations and philanthropic leaders.
 



Please contact [email protected] with any questions.

Virtual
June 9, 2021
7:00 pm

Search Our Global Collection

Everything you need to get started teaching your students about racism, antisemitism and prejudice.