Facing History Now: Conversations on Equity and Justice - Becoming A Multiracial Democracy

April 21, 2021
Becoming A Multiracial Democracy with Eddie Glaude Jr.
Online


Wednesday, April 21, 2021

7:00-8:00 PM ET
6:00-7:00 PM CT
5:00-6:00 PM MT
4:00-5:00 PM PT
2:00-3:00 PM HT

Live captioning will be provided during this event. Please contact our Special Events team with any questions. 

Facing History Now: Conversations on Equity and Justice - Becoming A Multiracial Democracy

Please join us on Wednesday, April 21 for a conversation with Eddie Glaude Jr., author of the new book Begin Again: James Baldwin's America and Its Urgent Lessons for Our Own. Together with Roger Brooks, President and CEO of Facing History, Glaude will discuss this moment of moral reckoning in the US, and the opportunity it presents for Americans to choose to “begin again” and become a genuinely multiracial democracy.

This is the sixth installment in the year-long Facing History Now: Conversations on Equity and Justice virtual event series.

 


 

Eddie S. Glaude Jr. is the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor and chair of African American Studies at Princeton University. Glaude is the author of several important books including Democracy in Black: How Race Still Enslaves the American Soul, which has been described as “one of the most imaginative, daring books of the twenty-first century.” His most recent book, Begin Again: James Baldwin’s America and Its Urgent Lessons for Our Own, was released on June 30, 2020. Imani Perry describes the book as “precisely the witness we need for our treacherous times". Glaude is also a columnist for Time magazine and a regular contributor on MSNBC. He hails from Moss Point, Mississippi, a small town on the Gulf Coast, and is a graduate of Morehouse College in Atlanta, Georgia. Eddie Glaude is a member of Facing History's Board of Scholars.

 


 

Learn more about the Facing History Now: Conversations on Equity and Justice virtual event series.

Live captioning will be provided during this event, which will be hosted on the ON24 webinar platform. This virtual event takes place at 7 PM ET / 6 PM CT / 5 PM MT / 4 PM PT / 2 PM HT.

Please contact our Special Events team with any questions.

Virtual
April 21, 2021
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Search Our Global Collection

Everything you need to get started teaching your students about racism, antisemitism and prejudice.